Breaking The Spirit Of The Elephant

I managed to watch a couple minutes of this. Now I’m crying. I watched it because I’ve been interested in elephants lately. I recently read about the evolutionary magnificence of their trunk. It compares to the uniqueness of the human brain–the unique part of our brains, that is.

Watching this makes me ashamed of human beings. Interestingly, I’m starting to see how we should never forget that to feel ashamed is what makes us human. I wish the reader could agree. Because we we try to deny this, we cannot understand why our world is dying. At the same time, we keep looking for, or lying to ourselves, about our purpose, why we are here, the meaning of life.

How many humans does it take to make misguided humans respect an elephant. Why can’t we solve this equation?

I didn’t want to share the sorrow of this innocent creature, but if I am human, I should embrace the shame.

News For Animal Welfare

When showing this video to a friend, her reply to me was “How can people do that to an elephant?” Well the reality is tourists do this to these elephants, maybe not physically, but through their desire to experience such a majestic creature up close. The people who train these animals are driven solely by the money the tourist brings. If tourists stop paying, then these practices will cease to exist. If this video stops just one person from funding this practice, then it has done it’s job.

View original post

Leave a Reply

